This is an issue with one of the Windows 10 updates around March or 2020.
The problem does not occur on the XT units because they are running embedded versions of Windows.
To get out of the Runtime or Designer screens, it is most efficient to use the "Close" - "Project" at the top of the Xpress Manager screen.
This will close the project and because Xpress is constantly saving all of your changes dynamically as you make them, there is no data lost when forced closed.
The project then needs re-opened and will be the top selection in the recent files list.
Any application edits done directly on the XT hardware works as it always has.